What fig cuttings are you propogating?

Like I said before, I am new at growing figs and fruit trees in general. It all started about 2 months ago when at an impulse, I bought a dying brown Turkey tree and I managed to bring it to live again. Of course, i knew nothing about how to take care of a fig tree or anything. As a matter of fact, i still havent even tasted a fig.

So, this all got me into researching all about figs and found a forum called ourfigs where I’ve learned so much. Met so many knowledgable and generous people that I now have so many varieties I will have a massive jungle in room I dont have…lol

Any ways, that forum is mostly figs and I needed info on how to grow, take care of, fertilize other fruit trees. That’s where I found this forum (today).

As of today, I have (rooting and some recently transplanted) the following fig varieties:

Celeste
improved celeste
Giant celeste
LSU purple, champagne
Brown Turkey
Peter’s honey
Desert kind
VdB
Siblawi
Kadota
Texas everbearing
White marseilles
Hardy Chicago

It’s crazy how much I got from members there. The problem with this is I put all of them to grow not knowing or thinking how many trees these were gonna be. So, how many fig cuttings are you propogating?

(I wasn’t allowed to post more pictures. That sort of killed it for me)

Now I am moving to learning how to propogate guava cuttings and then look for them as I know nothing about them yet but I heard some taste good.

Now you may ask “why the heck is this dude propogating”? Well, the wife and I have decided that we can no longer live the rat race in the city and we have been planning on moving north somewhere. We are planning on a few acres, away from city life but not too far. NC, SC, GA, KY and TN come to mind. It’s all in the planning state still so were thinking (hoping) within a year from now.

I want to have an orchard before so I can plant as soon as we get our new place.

3 Likes