What's ailing my peach?

Zone 7, south jersey. I was doing a lime-sulfur dormant oil spray and noticed this growth:

Not liking the look, I trimmed off the branch and dissected it. Mottled brown, firm interior on the growth only. Naturally, I forgot to get a photo. Is this probably localized? I’m new to fruit trees so I’m at a loss here.

1 Like

I’ve been growing hundreds and hundreds of peach trees for years in S. NY and never seen galls like that. If no one here has an answer I would forward that photo to your cooperative extension horticulturist who can use the full power of Rutgers and their entomology and plant pathology departments, which do a lot of work with commercial peach growers in your state.

3 Likes

Looking again, isn’t that a plum tree? If so, then it is early stage black knot.

1 Like

Could also be a pear tree. I’ve seen similar growths on pears, but
they’re usually at tips of a branch. I just leave them alone.

1 Like

You may be be right, those look like pear buds- so pointy. But I’ve never seen that on a pear’s young (or old) trunk. The growths you are talking about are spur formations that store energy for fruit, I think.

I have no pears or plums. I suppose it’s possible for the nursery to make a mistake but right now I’m operating like it is a peach.

Take a few more pics of that trees andpost them, please.

Some people here may be able to tell from its buds ( flowers and leave buds), the bark or a shape of your trees.

I am almost certain those buds don’t belong to a peach. J plum buds are pointy but don’t usually protrude like that.

It is more than possible for a nursery to make a mistake, it is common. Depending partially on the nursery in question, of course.

I’m a new user so they will only allow me to post one picture at a time. Please, bear with me.