What's coming up in the garden?

Turnips,Lima Beans , beets, potatoes, radishes, asparagus, squash,

5 Likes

First crop. White Radishes. Taste is delicious. I should have left some of them to get bigger. Just wasn’t thinking I guess…

2 Likes

The garden is Exploding! This is my first year in a long time and I’m kinda proud how things are coming. Just wanted to show it off a bit…

6 Likes

Looks beautiful- you’re almost ready to harvest stuff I’m just getting started on!

I am in N. Florida and we do get a bit of a head start. I already took a bunch of radishes, Turnips, Squash, Potatoes won’t be to far down the road and the Beets, Green beans, Lima beans Onions are just behind those. We’ll have a good bit of produce done here by mid July and planting some more…Now i just keep the diseases and bugs away looks like it will be a nice harvest year! Best of luck to everyone with their gardens this year…I just love seeing them all come to fruition!

How long will they last in those bags?

Our stuff is just getting started, then we got 2" of rain in 1/2 hr…

In a day or so I’ll get back in there and try to fix some things up. I had a couple blow outs on the green beans, and the carrot area got hammered. The toms, peppers, cucs, and potatoes did fine though.

4 Likes

Now that’s a good question. I vacuum packed them just cause that’s what I had. I can’t talk longevity because they are all eaten already! I’ll have to use the Packing for something else and try to see how long it lasts. I imagine it’s pretty good without any air in it…Still…great question…

1 Like

Radishes are the best straight out of the soil when they are firm and have that peppery flavor. When I put them in the fridge for a few days they remain edible, but get a little limp. I was hoping the vacuum sealing would keep them good for awhile.

I grow French Breakfast Radishes. Slice them up and fry with butter and salt until they are a light brown. Delicious.