Where to buy big Honeyjar jujube

Where can I get a good sized Honeyjar jujube with lots of roots? Or should I get another variety that’s easier to find, and graft Honeyjar onto it once its established.

I’m afraid the one I’ve been coddling along for a few years has died. I haven’t completely given up, because it can be late to leaf out, but it was semi girdled this winter by rabbits, and was pretty puny to begin with. The top 6 inches was dead when I pruned back to check.

JFE just restocked jujubes. Not big and expensive, but good quality. Bob Wells I think is out of stock, but they have five footers in a pot.

The Dave Wilson jujube trees are usually the larger caliper with larger roots. Many online sellers (not just bay laurel and grow organic/peaceful valley) source at least some of their jujube cultivars from DWN.
I forgot how to post pictures (don’t come here often anymore due to the chronic political venom from certain members), but if you go to the DWN website catalog page for honey jar, it should have a “where to buy” link with a list of mail order (or brick and mortar) stores which are selling DWN trees.
ToA, Bob Wells, JFaE, edible landscaping, rain tree, burnt ridge, fast growing trees, and some other familiar names are selling DWN jujube.
When you buy two jujubes from the same place and they are totally different calipers, the larger caliper is sourced from DWN. Individual nurseries, of course, also prune their trees differently after arrival for the wholesaler, which can explain height differences.

4 Likes

@murky of all the fruit trees I have grown, jujube is the only tree that I need to buy the largest tree I could find. They grow so slowly. It will save you a couple of years. So worth the price (quite pricey).

1 Like

Agreed on JF&E. Their trees will be well rooted. My HJ from them established very quickly despite an initial setback.

1 Like