White Nectarines-Flavor favorites?

I’m new to Sacramento, and getting ready to buy quite a few fruit trees for my backyard orchard. My biggest sticking point is which White Nectarine to go with…so I’d love to hear what are your absolute favorites in terms of taste! I definitely lean towards sweetest when selecting fruit, but sweetest with good flavor, not just bland like white peaches tend to be. Any experience with Zephyr, Jade, SilverGem, or Heavenly White?
Thanks for sharing your favorite varieties!

2 Likes

I haven’t had a lot of them,but Arctic Star really impressed me.

3 Likes

Hands down, Arctic Star.

2 Likes

Low acid white nectarines are my favorite fruits, and from among them, Zephyr is my top one. I grew Arctic Star, Silver Gem, Arctic Glo, Arctic Sweet, Arctic Jay and Zephyr, and frankly all are excellent and provided me with a continuous crop from early July to the end of Sep. I would plant all these.

Notes: My Silvergem is 2 years old, so I didn’t get to taste its fruit, but others have praised it. Both Silvergem and Arctic Glo are not low acid.

4 Likes

Welcome to Sacramento, a fruit growing paradise! I am about 21 miles east of you in Orangevale, by Folsom lake. My recommendations for white nectarines are… early Arctic Star, Arctic Glo, and Sno Queen, three of the very best, although I give the top position to Sno Queen, as it is unmatched for flavor when it comes to white nectarines and almost every fruit. For mid season I recommend Arctic Jay and Spize Zee nectaplum, really a white nectarine. I have Arctic Blaze for a late white nectarine but can not recommend it as it is hard to crop. I do not get very many of these and they are just pretty good. I will be trying the new Arctic Spite for my late white nectarine, as this one looks really good. Check out Andy’s Orchard for other varieties and other fruits that are excellent here. Pictured is Sno Queen nectarine, my favorite, good luck!

6 Likes