Will nurseries have a second batch in the fall?

Sorry I’m relatively new to gardening. I was wondering if nurseries have a second batch of plants that they prepare for fall plantings such as strawberries?

1 Like

Yes fall plantings are nearly as big as spring so many items will be available for sale.

2 Likes

it is going to depend a lot on the plants your looking for.

Most nursery’s will try to sell you potted plants and tree’s year round. Just for profit reasons.

The ideal time for planting most fruit tree’s and shrubs is when the tree’s/shrubs go dormant. (loose leaves) this is fall through early spring. This is the bear root season.

strawberry’s are neither a shrub nor tree though. And strawberry’s can be bought as bare root dormant plants during the dormant season. And much later. For profesional growers they store the dormant plants in huge freezers. To wake them up whenever the grower wants (when they plant them) and force them to start fruiting. This is how they can get close to year round local strawberry’s from greenhouses. (harvest june bearers in oktober for example) So you could probably even buy some strawberry plants right now.

Around juli/august the strawberry plants start making runners. And around this time they usually also sell those potted up small runners. You can also plant those.

3 Likes

But it doesn’t sound like they will be likely to have bareroot strawberries if thats the case?

it depends on a lot of factors. But here, bare root strawberry’s almost exclusively come from the fridge. So can be bought winter/spring/summer.

Fall strawberry’s come potted up as new potted up runners.

It depends on the nursery. Some do and some do not. It al;so depends on the year as well. The last year or so a lot of nurseries have been selling out of everything, even the smaller plants and trees.