Young onions problem

First, I want to say I am not a novice in the matter and successfully started my onions from seeds several years in a row. Never lost a single one other than to accidental pulling.
This year is much different. It started with box of Patterson onions about a week after emerging. The top started to wilt, like it was affected by direct sun or frost. There is no “black leg”, roots still look nice and healthy. If I cut the bad top, it may even push a new leaf up, but doesn’t recover. Eventually it just dries out. I already lost about half of the seedlings. The other box of Red Wing is a bit better, but it took longer time to emerge and it started the same route as Patterson - wilting without any visible damage to the stem or roots.
I am almost sure I will have to buy my planting onions this year. But what I try to figure, what kind of disease it is and if it is safe to plant them out to the garden if some survive?

I think I found it… (sigh)
Onion Smut
Because I didn’t have it before neither indoor nor outside, I suspect seeds. Too bad.

2 Likes

Nasty onions read onion smut :thinking:

2 Likes

@galinas I can’t tell for sure from your photos, but looks like it is mostly starting from the tips of your onion seedlings drying out and turning brown and progressing from there. The roots and lower stems look ok from what I can see. This doesn’t strike me as a biotic disease and definitely not onion smut. Another clue is it is affected multiple varieties, so unlikely to be seed-borne. I think it is something like high salts in your potting mix, temperature too warm or air is too dry. I cover my pots of onion seeds with plastic until they germinate to keep the moisture constant, and if I wait too long, I get something similar on the ends of the ends of the leaves after exposure to dry air, but they usually survive just fine so long as it is just leaf tips.

1 Like