Breeding New Varieties of Fruit

Didn’t want to get the USDA thread too off topic so I started another thread.

This is a subject that interests me a lot, and I think a lot of us amateur fruit growers should try our hand at it. Yes, it takes a lot of time and you might not ever get what you are really after, but hey, you might, and then you’ve got a new variety that generations after you could be growing and thanking you for. As Luther Burbank said, “It only takes one plant to change an industry”

As we are always facing new challenges with fruit growing, it’s always best to have as many people as possible trying to develop new varieties that can handle whatever challenge is thrown at us.

So anyway, what are your “new variety” ideas? Or questions? I’m fairly new at this myself but have done an internship dealing with it that basically changed my life. Plant breeding is very cool stuff.

One trick to saving time and space is to grow out your seedlings until they are big enough to take a scion from and then graft it to the tips of the branches of an older tree (it will produce fruit much faster and you keep all your “experiments” on only one tree)

9 Likes

I look forward to watching this thread develop. I have already learned several things from the previous discussion.

1 Like

I’m interested in the Rubus species (Brambles) and stone fruit. Most of my ideas have been discussed. I have 4 or 5 directions I would like to go. I don’t plan to change the world, just my backyard! I like high acid stone fruits. I made a cross of Arctic Glo nectarine and Indian Free peach. Both are high acid and sugar. Arctic Glo has more sugar. it does not taste like an acid fruit in the Midwest region. I’m hoping to get a peach that ripens earlier and has more sugar. Indian Free may some years ripen too late here to harvest. it is close! Glo ripens early August. So a cross may ripen somewhere inbetween? This is my main goal. To fill a hole in my harvest window.