Container Grown Kaki Persimmons

I am going to grow some of the less hardy Kakis in the containers and over Winter them in the shelter. Check out some of the photos below of successful fruiting Kakis in containers.

Tony

1 Like

Tony, some of those pics appear to have so much tree is such relatively small containers. They look rather amazing to me.

1 Like

Tony, I’m doing the same with a suruga & a Matsumoto. This is my first year and I’m thinking of leaving mine outside until mid-December, which should be enough chill hours, then bringing them inside. The inside area won’t be warm enough for them to lead out, I don’t think, but if they do I can put them in a bright sunny area until spring. What’s your plan? Also, did the websites you found these pictures on have any tips?

SMC,

Kakis were not too hard to grow in pots. What I did before with my Giant Hana Fuyu was I planted it in a 20 gallon pot with Miracle-Gro moisture control potting mixed with barks from some dead tree in my back yard. I let it sat out until Late November or early December for it to go into a dormant state then brought it into a unheated garage or my tornado shelter. The temp won’t drop below zero. I water the soil every few weeks to keep the soil moist and brought it out door again in Late March or Early April depended on how mild the Winter was. I did not give it any light.

Tony

Tony, be careful with MG soils in large pots like that, they can retain a lot of water causing rot and develop a perched water table. Problems may increase over time as the soil breaks down and compacts. Adding the bark will help, but I’d suggest making your own soil blend that is at least half pine bark. Tapla’s 5-1-1 mix is very good. I use a recipe that is about half pine fines, half (light) potting soil for my figs and they are very happy.

Tapla’s 5-1-1 needs too much watering for me. I plant 2 fig trees in it and they need watering everyday at summer.

The last picture looks fantastic, how big is the pot?