Newbie concerned about not being ready to plant bare root

Hi there! I’m a total fruit growing newbie. I’m getting ready to order as much as my budget will allow but I’m a little concerned about not being ready to plant when it’s time to pick up my goodies. I’ve been researching a lot about how to deal with bare root trees and plants and how it’s best to get them planted before they break dormancy. I also read that a few nights of over 40 can cause them to break dormancy. Our current 10-day forecast has a couple of nights in the low 40s at the very end, which is right around when I’ll be picking up my order. There’s no way I’ll be ready to plant at that point. For reference…I’m in zone 5 in Northern NY, and I’ll be getting apples, pears, plums, peaches, honeyberries, elderberries, blueberries, strawberries, raspberries and grapes. I’m not as worried about the trees, because I can get those planted more easily than the other stuff. Well…I’m still worried about getting them planted before they break dormancy, but I’m less worried about the planting site. I’m guessing all the berries and the grape vines can be potted up? Should I just pot them all up individually and plant them when their new home is ready as if I bought them that way at a nursery? Or should I say pot all the raspberry plants in a tub and so on and so forth and then pull the plants out when I’m ready to plant? Any suggestions would be much appreciated!

3 Likes

I pot things individually because if I plant in groups, I must damage roots when ready to put them into their individual final places.

Things like elderberries and honeyberries might already be breaking dormancy when you receive them, mine are already pushing growth, though I am in a warmer zone and this has been a warmer year.

Strawberries are likely the most difficult thing you’ve listed for planting as they need their crowns just right or they don’t seem to make it for me.