Stub cuts to encourage fruit bud development

Despite being a complete novice to pruning my fruit trees I feel I have a pretty good understanding of how things work. One thing that is off my radar, however, is the use of stub cuts (i.e. cutting a branch short to 2-3 buds, generally no more than a couple inches). I realize that they can be used to renew vegetative growth in grapes and stone fruit, but recently I have seen videos of people using stub cuts to encourage fruiting buds. Here is an example in Asian pears: Pruning Nashi Pears to induce fruiting buds and contain heights - YouTube I also saw a video where stub pruning was used to encourage fruiting in cherry trees.

In contrast to those videos, I have come across some written pruning tutorials that state to never stub cut (e.g. Oregon State University) without detailing why they take that stance.

I have several pruning books and stub cuts are largely ignored. To the point: Does anyone stub cut to promote fruit buds? If so, which fruit types do you utilize this type of cut? Why do most Ag Colleges recommend against stub cuts? Personal anecdotes are welcome! Thanks.

3 Likes