Two more days for first pickles of the year

:yum:

13 Likes

Looks tasty

Thanks)

What cukes do you grow there?

H-19(Little Leaf) and Diamant Hybrid - a new gem I discovered this year. Compact, early, productive, doesn’t need pollination and produces only female flowers, fruit firm and crispy with tender skin. We eat it for 2 weeks already, and LL just started to produce today.

1 Like

Started mine yesterday.

What method do you use to pickle?

Diamant has some nice disease resistance. Is it good for salads? I. Always looking for a new one against the cucumber Beatle.

Yes, very good for salads! It is crunchy, but tender, I didn’t see it yet overgrown, but at the size 1.5’’ in diameter and length about 5 ‘’ the seeds are are unnoticeable at all.

I use a salt brine. This is my first year pickling things so I don’t really know what I am doing. Did dill this time but will try bread and butter next. I want to try and make water kefir this year, but we will see how the pickles do first. I did pickle Stachys earlier this year and they were good.

I’ll try it next year

I do salt brine as well, natural fermenting, no vinegar. My spices are dill, black currant leaves, garlic, hot pepper(whole) and horse radish leaves. Usually I use roots too, but this time had no time to dig.

How long do you ferment?

Depends on the temperature and salt concentration. First batch I am always doing “light” - meaning less salt (30g per 1 litter of water +1/8 tsp of pickle powder to harden the water ) Less salt means shorter storage too, but we usually just eat pickles like fruit) So for “light” I would say it is 2-3 days on the counter and about a week after that can be stored in fridge. For winter I use more strong solution, 40 g per litter +1/8 tsp of pickle powder to harden the water, those can be ready in 4-5 days, but eatable after 3 days. It is all up to the taste.

For kefir, I only have culture for milk kefir, and always can share it - it is growing very fast.