When is a good time to bend limbs?

I just bent some limbs down on my pear trees with bricks and string. Is there any issue with doing this as fall approaches? Is there a better time to bend limbs? Anyone have a favorite method?

2 Likes

I’m still learning this, but to me you should do it as soon as possible, consistent with allowing the tree to achieve its desired size.

Some orchards start bending as soon as they can, encouraging fruiting on very closely spaced trees which are never allowed to get very large.

Alan points out that allowing new grafts to grow vertically gives them a chance to get good size, but then pulling over towards the horizontal will encourage less vegetative growth and more fruiting.

Ultimately it is all about balancing one against the other. Obviously, you need enough vegetative growth to provide for the needs of the tree and the fruit, and you need enough fruit to justify the tree.

That’s a little more than I really know, so I’ll stop talking.

3 Likes

I think the bending will be more effective when the tree is growing. The limb “sets” in it’s new orientation as it grows new wood. Nothing wrong with doing it now but it might have to stay in the new position well into next summer before it stays in place. Take the stings off next spring and the limbs will want to go back to where they are now.

4 Likes

I’ve wondered the same thing. I did a lot of tying down in spring with light weight sisel string and most of those have broken. After a summer of growth I could stand to tie down several more limbs. I was unsure if I should tie over the winter

I believe the wood gets brittle in the winter

I went to a demo of spindle training late one winter and the grower went to bend a branch down to the wire, and it snapped off - embarrassing

4 Likes

I have snapped a few branches but with practice most breaks can be eliminated.

I bend limbs at most any time of the year but an actively growing limb will hold the new direction best.

1 Like