A tad (well quite a lot actually) confused about fig cuttings rooting methodssssss!

Hi everyone:

I want to try to root some fig cuttings. I have no experience with either grafting or rooting.

I have visited many forums dedicated to figs, saw many videos on Youtube and so on and found that there are so many established methods (and personal methods too with variations) to roots figs that I don’t know how to select one of them…

I have very good LED growing lamps, heating mat, plentiful of Ziploc bags, could buy rooting hormone too and a handy garage etc…

Sometimes I believe I will put all methods in a bag and let fortune decides for me… If you strongly believe one method is better than the next, please tell me!

I will root Rondes de Bordeaux cuttings mainly. Nothing is warranted so how many more cuttings should I root if I want to end up with 12 plants alive?

Thanks for any imput!

Marc Lamarre

3 Likes

I did few hundred cuttings and documented whole thing here , you can take a look and ask any question you have and I will try to answer. I do remember when I started four years ago and was very confused.

1 Like

I used about 90% optisorb and 10% coconut coir under a lightbulb style cheapo grow light and had 9/9 hardy Chicago takes. I highly recommend optisorb/Napa floor dry (coarse diatomaceous earth) for this purpose as well as general gardening to replace perlite. Great for me so far.

Edit- I also scraped the cambium layer and applied root hormone powder for good measure. 2-3 lines are enough scrapes for good root development, I think I did about 1.5"

2 Likes

@ Shabou

I would suggest you obtain some cheap cuttings and have some hands-on experience. Fig is relative “easy” to root. But can be frustrating to some people. You need to regulate moisture and temperature.

2 Likes

where do you get your fig cuttings from? are you buying them? or do you have access to a large fig tree/shrub?

Fig roots quite readily. If had good results with dormant cuttings.