Advice? Bud Grafting Mulberry Tomorrow

I offered to help a friend who has lots of fruit trees but doesn’t graft successfully. He acquired some mulberry material and is available tomorrow.

It will probably be around 80 degrees out while we graft, high of 90 with upcoming days getting near 100.

Here are pictures of the wood collected and in the fridge (I would have collected straight current season growth with wide internodes). I should have advised on collecting wood.

There are two varieties. I’m not sure exactly what the host tree(s) will look like but I think he probably has more than one well established tree that bear.

I have lots of experience grafted with dormant scion wood on existing trees of temperate fruit. Much less with budding. More with T-budding than chip budding.

I’m told varieties are Himalayan and Heratti. Anybody know Heratti? First I’ve heard of it.

1 Like

I’ve done a few T-bud placements, over the years, with mixed results.
Did a few last week with budwood I cut from a few roadside M.rubras I was able to access on a trip home to AL, visiting family.

Of the ‘budwood’ pictured, pretty much all I see that I’d want to use is the one you’ve circled. But… if some of those pieces of last year’s wood have some decent buds, you might be able to bark graft them onto limbs with some success.

1 Like

Yeah, I hope the one I circled continues out of the frame of the picture with some more buds. There are 2 varieties, I don’t know if the picture is of one or both. He says he knows which are which .

I saw a picture of the the donor trees. They had plenty of suitable growth :frowning:

Are mulberry like apples in that adventitious shoots will originate just about anythwere? I’m wondering if its worth bark grafting or whip and tongue some of the wood without obvious nice buds but healthy and hydrated with at least one internode?

Do I wrap the grafts with loose tented aluminum foil and instruct him to remove it after a week?

1 Like