Advice for a new budder on K1 + scion request

I have five Krymsk 1 rootstocks I got last year from Raintree. I intended to bud on to them last fall, but lost track of time. The rootstocks are awake now, so it’s too late for dormant grafting. I’m in North Texas/8a - when is the next good time to bud? And should I T-bud or chip bud? (I’m a bit nervous about getting the size of the chip right, but as I understand it there’s a wider window for chip budding?) FYI, I won’t be able to spend any money on a decent knife or parafilm until the end of the month, so I won’t be able to do anything before April.

I’d like to get my hands on some budwood as well. I’m a newbie so I don’t have anything to trade, but I can reimburse for postage (again, not till the end of the month–things are single digit tight right now!). Things I already have: Emerald Beaut plum, Flavor King pluot, Harcot apricot, Tomcot apricot. Things I would like to have: Pretty much any decent J. plum, pluot, or apricot that’s going to grow in my area, and bonus points for not ripening at the same time as the ones I already have. I’m in the 800-hr chill zone.

Much appreciated!

Brittany, you needn’t worry about the size of the chip- it’ll happen almost automatically! Your budstick should be in the neighborhood of pencil diameter, and you’ll simply slice under the bud some convenient amount, and as long as you get the bud itself plus a little wood on each end it’ll work fine. Cut a corresponding piece from your rootstock and slip it in and wrap it. Easier than trimming your nails.

And while I like parafilm you don’t have to have it, especially for chipping. It’s common practice to cut strips of bread bag and wrap with those. Make the strip about a foot long and roughly 1/2" wide. As for knives, a decently sharp paring knife will work great, and a grocery store box cutter would serve also for chipping and budding.