Advice on how to prune this avocado tree

Hi all, new to this forum but hoping I can access the collective wisdom here.

I have been growing a Mexican Creollo avocado in a pot for about two years now, and unfortunately I haven’t taken very good care of its growth. You will see from the photos linked below that the tree has forked, and that one fork is now growing faster than the other.

My question for you all, is if this was your tree, how would you prune this tree to bring it back to order. I am thinking of cutting off the thinner of the two forked branches, and encouraging the remaining one to grow straight. And maybe pruning some of the longer branches to encourage them to branch off at shorter lengths. Welcome advice here.

Then thinking I can perhaps use the one I cut off to graft into another rootstock of some sort…

2 Likes

Welcome to the forum, Dan! How big of a pot is that and when did you last re-pot the tree? If you want to encourage more growth my first suggestion would be potting it up to at least 12 gal, 15 might be better. Once its roots have more room to stretch out, it’ll respond better to any pruning you decide to do.

Those two main branches still look pretty similar to each other in overall growth. Personally, I would wait for the next flush (probably spring unless you have it in a warm room), and then just pinch the terminal buds on the larger branch to encourage it to focus on the other branch for one flush.

If you’re interested in grafting another Mexican-type avocado on one of those two branches, though, I’d be happy to swap scions with you! I’ve got a rapidly growing collection of both named Mexican cultivars and seedlings, but always on the lookout for new ones. Where did your seed come from?