Advice on Topping a cherry tree

I’ve got a cherry tree from a nursery thats over a meter tall and already decently established.

The problem is that i want to KGB Train the tree in order to control its height. According to any training manuals etc, im reading that the tree must be headed at around 24 inches.

Will heading the tree down to 24 inches cause too much damage and will i be be better off heading about 25% max?

Apologies if this is a dumb question, but i am lacking in the experience and know how and im still learning alot along the way :slight_smile:

Thanks in advance for any assistance !

I recently bought two Sweetheart cherry trees on Mazzard roots from Costco that were over 1" caliper and roughly six feet tall. They had a nice open center but the problem was that branching did not start until close to four feet up the trunk. I am also interested in either KGB or Spanish Bush style training. My decision was to cut the trees down to 18" and put 2 grafts into the stump using scions from the upper growth since the trees were still dormant. It has been a few weeks now and the buds are beginning to swell so I am hoping that it works out. Cherry Video

3 Likes

Where i am, im carefull with heading peach tree’s. Since they seem to lack dormant buds.

I think cherry has this problem less. Or not at all. (i vaguely remember seeing a headed back 10+ old cherry sprouting from dormant buds)

But a picture of the tree, or the age of it would be good information to know.

If your heading back to 1 or 2 year old growth you’r probably fine. However if your heading back to a 5+ year old trunk, id think about leaving some new growth on it.

Or wait for some-one who has headed cherry tree’s to pitch in.

2 Likes

Thanks for the feedback. Havent picked up my tree from the nursery yet, but i do have a picture (See reply below) Id love to cut down to 18"-24" , but dont want to cut too much. Im guessing the tree is currently at 40"-50" long… or even longer my the look of it