Almost time for the first spray of copper?

If the wind dies down here in RI I’d love to prune a bit, get rid of the out of hand summer growth and would it be too early to spray my copper? Thanks.

1 Like

Mrs. G.,
Several of my trees still have a lot of leaves. I would like to wait for a week or two before spraying. If your trees drop most of their leaves, you could spray.

1 Like

No, I won’t spray still have too many leaves! But it has been really cold out these past few days.

This week has been colder than some weeks in the winter!!!

I have been told its best to spray just after the leaves have fallen as diseases can enter where the leaf was attached. Not sure how important it really is though.

2 Likes

Thanks for posting this topic. This is my first time to do a copper spay going into the winter period. Do you also add dormant oil with this application of copper?

Have not heard of fall apple pruning. OK to do? Does tree react to fall (leaves off) pruning same as winter dormant pruning?

I usually don’t add oil to the fall copper but add a triple dose of my pine-tar sticker to keep the copper on a long time. Oil is best at smothering pests as they start to wake up in early spring.

I have not been doing fall copper for several years now as my bacterial spot problems have been minor. I still do spring copper on peaches and plums.

1 Like

Thanks

I usually try to get a fall spray of copper in just in case spring weather gives me a hard time. Weather here is unpredictable to begin with.

I want to make sure I have at least one spray in.

1 Like

Thanks Scott!

the trees are usually treated with copper when it has fallen more or less 50% of its leaves to cover the wounds left by the leaf petiole.