'Ambrosia' melons

Coming in sweet and juicy. Very easy to grow in EarthBoxes.

3 Likes

How do you know? Open it up already! :smiley:

Ha! This is the 4th or 5th melon of the season. I’ve been growing these every year for a few years now. It’s my absolute favorite. I’m going to serve it tonight for desert.

Oh that is SO beautiful, Clint!! Be sure to take a pic when you cut it in half. And, what does Ambrosia taste like? Love, love, love melons. All of them.

It’s a full flavored cantaloupe with super sweet and melting flesh. ‘Ambrosia’ melons are easy to harvest because they decide when they are ready by "slipping’ off the vine. This one slipped while still pretty firm, my wife likes them firmer, I like them really melting. Go figure. This one still had a little green yet on the rind. Most cantaloupes make the roof of my mouth itch, but ‘Ambrosia’ never does.

Oh boy, I’m going to have to try to grow those next spring. That looks just outstanding.

Growing them on a trellis in an EarthBox is water wise and takes up very little space. You should get eight or more melons on four vines, and they ripen over time:

This one is how I really like them:

1 Like

Fantastic, Clint. Thanks for the additional photos. I have to figure out where I can stuff a few Earth Boxes. They are a good alternative for us here in drought-stricken S. California.

1 Like

melons are similar to lychees.
they are both rough and parched on the outside(that one is almost tempted to apply some moisturizer, lol), but the insides are extremely juicy. Bursting and dripping in flavor.

1 Like

A beauty!

I grew that type this year. Of course, my vines were not in EarthBoxes because those don’t make economic sense for my growing conditions. They were in the regular garden between peanuts and zukes.