Any idea what's going on with these leaves?

Hello everyone,

I went away for vacation and came back to find my Issai Kiwi & 4 in 1 apple tree leaves looking strange. I did spray the apples with Sulphur before I left, and they were both well watered.

My apple leaves look a bit distorted/mottling and have discoloration. Almost like a mosaic virus.

My Issai Kiwi looks like it may have chlorosis. Also some distortion/mottling as well. The new green growth on them looked great, and I come back to this. Anyone successfully growing hardy Kiwi? This is its second year, and I’ve had problems both years now. Maybe it’s getting too much sun?

What cultivar? Honeycrisp is known to leaf yellow due to a buildup a photosynthate in the leaf.

3 Likes

None of the 4 are Honeycrisp. And they’re all 4 different varieties.

They’re not yellow like the leaves in that link either. I’ll keep an eye on them if they change color to a brighter yellow.

I’m no expert, but the apple leaves look like they are curled because of an tiny insect sucking on the undersides. Possibly a leaf hopper or aphids.

Ross, I have exactly the same leaves on my apple trees as on your second picture. I was wondering why is that? Three of my four apple trees do not look happy. The few apples look too small and undeveloped. The leaves are curled inward and there is light discoloration as on your picture. I did not see any insects except for June beetles. I am thinking it was the dry and the hot weather that stressed my apples. They are on Emla 26 rootstock which is not resistant to drought. The better looking apple is located in the shadier and slightly wetter spot of the garden.

And my hardy kiwi is growing in the full sun and it rarely gets any watering, but it looks normal, without any problems.

Is that chemical fertilizer at the base of the kiwi? you might have overdone it. If that’s the case, I would remove it.