Any surefire way to stop Apple Maggots?

The last place I lived all the apples had a hole in them every year & now about ten miles away I have the same problem. I don’t know when they show up but I sure would like to eliminate these rotten little pests. What’s the best way to handle these little suckers?

3 Likes

I am really not sure but I would guess surround maybe. (I wouldn’t listen to me unless someone else agree, I am not an apple expert)

The Permaculture Orchard (Stephan Sobkowiak) has videos of the traps that he makes on Youtube. He doesnt spray though…

2 Likes

Basically, you have three options bag the fruit, spray Surround ( a kaolin clay), or spray an insecticide. I think some people also use traps but I am not sure of there effectiveness.

Which works best depends on your situation. If you explained situation in detail we could offer more advice. Are your apples trees large or small? Are you willing to spray an insecticide? Or are you willing to spray Surround even if it requires more frequent sprays than an insecticide?

Presence of adults can be detected by trapping.

An insecticide application is warranted if there have been a total of five flies caught per red sphere trap baited with apple volatiles, or one fly caught in an unbaited red or yellow trap. This action threshold should be used after each insecticide application as well as to reevaluate if another insecticide application is needed.

I would prefer organic control but I’m guessing I would have to spray after it rains which happens a lot here. So I’m not very interested in the clay but I don’t have a lot of fruit yet (less than 100) & the fruit is low so it’s a possibility. Although it seems like I would need a special sprayer that wouldn’t clog up?