Apple Orchard Cider Donuts Machine Help

No idea where to stick this, so I put it into General Fruit Growing…We have a couple Belshaw DR42 donut fryers that are probably 40 years old. They work pretty good, but not perfect. I am wondering if any other orchards who serve cider donuts during the picking season have any experience operating one of these machines. Our issues are teething issues I am sure. The machines work well and we have used them many times. The issues are more subtle and would require talking to a knowledgeable person who has run many a donut. Any thoughts or ideas, send them my way!!!

1 Like

I have some experience with these machines and with cake donut production in general. What kind of issues are you having?

Two things I recall: the consistency and temperature of the donut mix has to be right and the temperature of the grease has to be right. Also the grease level has to be kept at a fairly narrow range, which means the operator should be adding small amounts of grease very often -large amounts drop the grease temperature too much, and then the donuts don’t behave right. Aim for 375 F grease temperature.

Mixing the batter can be a little fussy, too. IRRC you’re looking at about a half minute on first gear and about 2 minutes on second gear of a Hobart 20 quart mixer. The hopper should be scraped down and topped up often. If your donut size is adjustable you’ll probably have better results with the smaller size - about an ounce, I think, finish weight.

1 Like

We had a 20 quart mixer, too heavy to lift up and over the hopper when half full. Looking for a 10 quart Hobart, kinda odd size. I do know that the batter has to be the right temp and we have a feeder for the oil level so we can keep it at the ‘Oil Level’ mark.

The issues we seem to always have are as follows: