Apple Rootstock Stooling

Good Morning,
I am new to grafting and my grafts for how are doing much better than I imagined. I grafted them about mid March and most them have flowers busting out. Now that I have that complete some of my rootstocks look like they didn’t take. Instead of being discouraged I googled what else I can do with them, and came across stooling. What’s better than growing your own rootstock. I have the basis down as per google but would love if anybody has pictures of their process so I can learn from that. I’ve watch all the YouTube videos but sometimes things being explained through pictures and comments is the best! Thanks in advance

4 Likes

Just plant the root stock in an area where you want to create the stool bed. I would plant 18-24" apart. Let them grow this year… next year is step two! Bump your post to the top about 2-3 weeks before bud break in your area next year.

1 Like

Here is how the big nurseries propagate their apple rootstocks (after 7:50):

It may be of help to you.

P.S. The video has English subtitles. You may have to turn them on.

2 Likes

What about saving the rootstock and budding to it in the late summer or fall?