Apple suggestions for hard cider

I have been contemplating adding another 2-3 trees to our backyard that are dedicated cider-making apples. I’m looking for suggestions from what’s available from Stark Bros given I’ve been pretty happy with I’ve purchased in the past. (if anybody also has suggestions for another grower I’m open to that as well). Also, we are in z5a so I need to take that into consideration. For those that have experience with cider making, what would you recommended for a well-rounded, interesting cider(s)? I have plenty of beer making experience so cider sounds like a good change of pace.

Ben Davis
Currently the cider apples available in Stark’s catalog as far I can tell are:
Cortland
Cox’s Orange Pippen
Golden Russet
GoldRush
Johnathan
Orleans Antique
Smokehouse
Winsesap

Cheers!

Here is a more comprehensive list. Most of the big cider makers are alot more focused on the crab apple varieties.

1 Like

Fedco trees have a good selection of apples, including cider varieties. They are in Maine, so should be compatible with your 5a zone.

2 Likes

I’d look into the European cider varieties, too. Many of them bloom in group 5 or 6, and so are the very latest to bloom. I think in the foothills of CO that might be a very useful trait, with the swings in weather I imagine you get. Some folks here have had issues with rots and diseases due to humidity, but this is might be less of a problem for you.

I had a bottle of Kingston Black still cider from Eve’s Cidery in NY. It is very good, and you can tell why Kingston Black is considered a vintage single-variety cider apple.

Cummins Nursery and Grandpa’s Orchard also have cider trees.

1 Like