Apple Trees Pruned to Open Center Vase

Anyone tried to prune semi dwarf Apple trees to an open center like a Peach tree? Just had an interesting conversation with a person who was very knowledgeable about hard cider production suggest it.

I have often wondered why pruning an apple tree to a central leader is the standard practice, but open center is the standard practice for peaches.

I have a dwarf Honeycrisp and two semi dwarf Liberty pruned to open center. When I started learning to prune them they seemed to be the right shape and location to do it. I have others that are central leaders, and others I prune as tall spindle. all of them not perfect in the eyes of a professional I’m sure,
but they give me fruit. In a perfect world I’d love to have the space for a whole orchard of dwarf open center Apple trees they’re pretty to look at and easy to pick.

The reason the universities recommend central leader for apples is because it allows for better yields because of greater efficiency in utilizing light. In southern areas I suppose it would also reduce sunburn.

Here in the northeast open center works fine for apples if you aren’t trying to maximize your crop, and most homegrowers are not.

Jellyman AKA Don Yellman also recommended it for apples and all other fruit trees further south.

How much advantage of central leader is lost on sites that don’t get dawn to dusk sun is not a researched question.

Just like Alan said, my goal is not to maximize the yield but for convenience’s sake (spraying, harvesting, ect.). My trees also do not get sun burn. We have a few deer. So far, not much damage from them.

Thus, not only apples or pears, all my trees are pruned to open center. Some may thing they look unattractive. Being able to stand on the ground picking fruit conveniently is attractive enough for me :slight_smile:

1 Like

3 of my apple trees are on M 7, one on unknown rootstock but is likely a M 111.