Apple Trees Vs. Undergound Termites

I’d like to put out a cry for help from any Entomologists out there. One of the toughest challenges we’ve had all over Africa, from East Africa to Nigeria, is termites, the subterranean kind. They call them “ants” or “white ants”, but they are definitely termites, and are the ones that build those huge mounds. They will eat the roots and cambium of young trees, stripping the bark all the way up to the soil line. I’ve found no commercial pesticide labeled for both termites and fruit trees, most are intended for structure protection and are too toxic for apple trees.

Our Uganda team has experimented with local treatments, the most successful so far has been a mixture of fermented urine and wood ashes, poured around the base of the tree.

The problem seems to be really bad during the dry season, when the young trees are the only irrigated thing in the dry forest. Keeping them watered well seems to help some.

1 Like

Applenut,
I’m no expert but am familiar with wood ants and termites and some methods to combat them. A perimeter of termidor which is very toxic is used here around houses which last 10 years but nothing within 20-30 feet of the barrier is safe to eat. If you were doing a large planting it’s possible you could make a barrier around an orchard to where they could not cross the barrier. It would be important to not plant anything close to that barrier The perimeter would need to be marked so that soil would not be disturbed. I’ve seen them apply it and they dig a trench 2 feet or so down and mix the termidor with water and fill the ditch they made and shovel the dirt back in on the chemical. The termites cannot cross that barrier. The old timers here prior to any kind of regulation made perimeters out of oil around structures because the termites would not cross it. Diatomaceous Earth can be a non toxic way to combat ants https://www.diatomaceousearth.com/natural-indoor-ant-repellent/ . Something else to think about is a