Austin, TX apple orchard

New to this forum and thanks to many for the warm welcome. Speaking of warm, it’s been pushing 100 degrees for the past week or so here near Austin, with very little rain since May and warm nights to match. It’s not even August! Question of the day: can I even grow apples here? I think so, but will need some help.

As I mentioned in my brief bio, I’ve started small orchards several times across the country in mostly classic apple growing regions, but have relocated my family for work before enjoying the fruits of my labor each time. I’m a novice by every measure, though full of (blind) ambition for home grown apples. So, here I am near Austin considering starting again, whilst staring down serious summer weather and wondering whether this is even doable. Again, I think I can pull it off.

Our soils are thin and mostly caliche type limestone based soils. I have probably 12" of topsoil before hitting caliche. The caliche can be dug, removed and amended. I haven’t dug holes, but that’s likely. PH will range on the high side. We have lots of heat, some humidity, warm nights and cool winters. Our zone is 8B. I have irrigation.

Given that, I have researched warm weather apple varieties. Thanks to Kevin, he lists a bunch of exciting varieties at Kuffel Creek. I’ve contacted the nice people at Century Farm Orchards. David provided a list of nice recommendations. Most websites offer a list of warm season varieties which is great.

I’ve narrowed my go-to list to Rev Morgan, King David, GoldRush and Dixie Red Delight on M111 rootstalk. M111 may take awhile, but am hoping the rootstalk is more dependable given our climate. My wife tells me that this is our last relo :grimacing:, so there’s that. I’ve debated a bunch of other varieties including many of your recommendations: Fuji, Gala, Kidd’s, Tompkins, Golden Russet and Hudson’s GG. I could work a few more into my landscape pretty easily.