Bare root tree left in house for 3 days. Roots dry. Are they dead?

im new to growing in general and i dont know if my fruit trees are dead. they were in my room for 3 days maybe 2.5 days and the roots were dry when i soaked them last night. Soaked them for 1 hour then planted them. Some people on reddit said they would be okay. The people i ordered from (Legg creek farm) called me this morning saying that theyre probably dead but you should try to plant just in case. What do you guys think?

these are american persimmon, peach, plum, grape vine, pomegrante, pear. most had no leaves but like 3 of them had tiny green leaves when they arrived and stil had them after 3 days. These are all 5 foot trees except pomegrante is a dwarf very tiny, and grapevine is very tiny maybe a foot.

2 Likes

They are in the ground leave them be.

2 Likes

Depends how they were stored in the room. With the roots covered in plastic they may be ok, if they were completely open they are dead.

1 Like

they were not in the platstic i removed it and they were dry

1 Like

Maybe soak them in rooting hormone for a few minutes and just plant them where you intended. Amend some bone meal in with the soil and wait for a couple months. Then do a scratch test and see what you got.

What kind of rootstock are they on? Some are more drought tolerant than others.

2 Likes

YOU never specified the kinds of fruit, not the sizes of the trees.
Nor even if they had any leaves at time of planting.

Apples, pears, plums, jujubes?

sorry im noob didnt know it mattered. american persimmon, peach, plum, grape vine, pomegrante, pear. most had no leaves but like 3 of them had tiny green leaves when they arrived and stil had them after 3 days. These are all 5 foot trees except pomegrante is a dwarf very tiny, and grapevine is very tiny maybe a foot.

2 Likes