Bark or Cleft Graft?

I read all the grafting threads here but I still have a few questions. I would like to top work about 50 three or four year old dwarf apple trees. I have some experience with bench grafts, but none in this new area. Should I bark or cleft graft? Finding the time after the bark starts to slip may be a problem. Would that make the cleft graft the better choice and if so, when is the proper time of the year for that technique?

I prefer cleft or whip or whip and tongue over bark grafting. To be sure, I don’t do a whole lot of any of them, but of the four I like bark the least.

Alan uses Italian nippers that enable him to make a long slant cut on both the stock and scion, and then wraps it with 3M tape (discussed earlier here at length). This is so quick to do it’s scary. But if the pieces aren’t very close in size I go to cleft.

Some people here do this type of grafting in the summer, but this is the first year I’ve tried it and I don’t have sure results yet, although things look good so far. I’ve always done it in the spring. I also resort to chip budding sometimes -also very quick and with good success rates. Chipping can be done spring or fall.

I put a bark graft and a cleft graft both on the same young Apple tree this spring. The cleft has 3/4 of the stump covered. The bark graft has a a little less than half of its stump covered. It seems to grow out to the side more.

Most people bark graft once the understock reaches “x” diameter. Larger Diameter stock is easier to bark graft. You dont leave a large gaping split when bark gafting. Personally anything over 3" diameter I wouldnt cleft graft.

yeah…what Turkey said…what is the diameter?

Anything under 3" I personally would cleft graft without even a second thought, but I think I read most like them to be no more than 2".

The cleft has the positive attribute of being self supporting and quick healing.