Basic Tips For New Grafters #3a: What Graft For What Species

This section could almost be called “Pomes, And Everything Else And Don’t Forget Persimmons And Nuts”

My experience indicates that the these species work with the indicated grafts:

Pomes and plums: Almost any graft.

Everything else: Nothing. Well, that’s just me. Other people happily graft all those stone fruit, persimmons, hickories, and so on but aside from apricots I’ve had no experience with them, and the 'cots have been a failure (probably temperature related).

So I really wish somebody would finish this section for me. Please.

1 Like

Stone fruits are no different than pomes and plums. Just about
any graft will work with them too.

I’ve had many failures with apricots, one success! But as I say that’s probably temperature related. And plums are OK for me too. Never have needed to graft the others, but I gather they can be tricky, no?

I don’t grow apricots so I don’t have any experience with them, but peaches
and nectarines graft just like anything else.

I’ve had limited success grafting…

I can say that cleft graft worked well for me with regard to persimmon (hybrid to American rootstock)

whip and tongue worked for my 2 (of 5 attempts) successful plum grafts.

Apples (which are rumored to be simple enough that one can just throw a scion onto the tree and have it work) have proved to not work for me at all (whip and tongue and one of those fancy omega cut grafts). Pawpaws, I tried cleft and was unsuccessful as well, though I blame timing on this one

Scott (who isn’t even trying this year because he was too busy recently to hunt down the scion he would need)