Beginner growing fruit in Texas

Hello,

I’m a beginner grower. I grew up in a high rise and most of our plants were fake. I’ve been living in a house with a big yard close to Houston Texas for about 5 years now. I’ve killed a lot of pants in that time, but I’m finally learning and growing some fruit.

I have a peach planted last year that grave us 4 small peaches this year, a mandarin orange planted a couple of weeks ago, and some blueberries planted a few weeks ago. The mandarin tree’s leafs are bent over and I’m not sure that’s normal. But it seems to still be alive and I’ve given it tons of water. The preach had some nibbled leafs, so I spread the leafs with an organic insecticide, fungicide and mitecide. The blueberries are having new growth, which is relieving since a few dried out and I thought they may die. I’m growing with all organic soil and nutrients. I’ve been using strawberry fields and happy frog soil from fox farms. I’ve been watering with the house, but I’ve been reading about the chlorine in the water, so I’ll be making a rainwater collection system soon.

I also have a white mulberry that grew on its own (there are many in the area, but I’ve only ever seen ours fruit, I wonder why that is). We’re currently making a clone of it and i hope we can get a second fruiting tree from it.

We tried transplanting a section of the blackberries from three creek into a planter but they died. I threw some berries in the planter and let the ones that dried out fall in there too. I think there’re some blackberry leafs poking out of the dirt now, but I’m not that great at recognizing the leafs and they’re still really small so I don’t know for sure yet.

3 Likes

Mulberries sometimes have male and female trees. Only the females make berries.

1 Like