Best Loppers

Can anybody recommend a good brand of Loppers? My old cheap ones mangle the bark on one side no matter how sharp the blades it seems. Am ready to spend for loppers that make a clean cut.

Felco makes a quality tool, may I recommend a Sawzall with a wood blade :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye: .

I think that Felco is considered the top of the line but Corona is OK with me for less bucks.
Just my opinion. I am not an expert.

@alan knows a lot more than I do so I went with his recommended brand as of a few years ago, Bahco. They have been much better than my previous no-name Home Depot loppers.

I have a heavy wooden-handled set that I picked up at a garage sale years ago. They are tough and functional but are pretty heavy- I find myself going to the little saw if my nippers won’t do the job. I’d probably use the loppers more if they were less cumbersome. I like that loppers can extend your reach, but these clunkers make that less fun.

I have Bahco P160-SL-75 professional orchard loppers. Protoolwarehouse.com has them for $50. Or you can opt for cheaper Bahco. I don’t know what your expectation is, but you can’t get completely away for scaring the other side. Keeping the blade clean helps with cutting.

Thanks everyone.

Love my Felco’s!

After thousands of cuts and several loppers over time, the one lopper that I value most for making 1" to 2" cuts is made by Fiskars, the “Durasharp 32” Power Gear Bypass Lopper". Highly leveraged, strong, slick cuts. There is a bit of extra friction as the tightly bolted blades slide. The handles need lots of elbow room to open the blades up for 2" cuts. It is the opposite of lightweight, dinky, sloppy, wobbly…the common traits of the loppers sold because they underpriced all the other low price loppers. This is not the lopper top use if you need to cut 100 - 1/2" to 3/4" branches. I wish that I had one of these for a long time, instead of only for a few years. For me, the IS the better mouse trap.

1 Like