Best spray to use for cherry leaf spot

hey folks. i noticed my new nanking cherries have cherry leaf spot on them. what do you guys recommend for a spray for them. im new to growing sour cherries and i don’t want this to spead to my other young s. cherries and plums. thanks in advance for your response!

Myclobutanil. There are several trade names. The one you can find at Lowe’s or Home Depot is Immunox, multi purpose fungicide.

3 Likes

thanks. ill order some. read that liquid copper can be used with some success and i had it on hand so i hit them with that for now. hopefully it will slow it down long enough untill i get the other stuff.

Just reading a KSU Extension bulletin on controlling cherry leaf spot. Chlorothalonil is recommended at "bud break and a
second application 10 days later (full bloom to petal fall) if conditions warrant. Do not apply between shucksplit through harvest.
Captan and myclobutanil are also effective can be
applied at any time other than harvest. If the disease is still active, an application after harvest and two weeks later is recommended."

I use Captan/Myclobutanil, but don’t have good control of leaf spot yet. Does anyone have experience using chlorothalonil at bud break and petal fall? Our local store carries Daconil, (cholorothalonil) so I could buy and apply this weekend if it is more effective when used as the 2 early sprays. If less effective, I will stick with Captan/Myclobutanil.

I have used myclo for almost 10 years on cherry leaf spit, very effective. I sprayed twice at petal fall and 10-14 days later.

Daconil/chlorothalonil has a concern about post harvest interval considering cherries ripen very early comparing to other fruit.

1 Like

People just discuss that Captan needs to be sprayed with low ph water (5-7) to maximize its effectiveness.

Also, there are different brands of myclobutanil. Which myclo did you use? Eagle or Immunox? ( the two more common ones).