Bitter Rot, Black and White Rot on Apples

Could one of you apple gurus explain the difference in these diseases
and how to treat them. Thanks

2 Likes

Are there no apple gurus on the forum?

Ray

I struggle with prevention and identification of all the summer rots you identified. For sure, I am no expert! Last year, I got nailed by Bitter Rot which I originally thought was White Rot. The good news is that Captan is pretty effective against all the summer rot diseases.

The link below is some of the best information I have found and I use it a lot. White rot is listed as “bot” rot:

https://www.ces.ncsu.edu/fletcher/programs/apple/plantpath/index.html

If you want to spend $100 on a good disease textbook for apples and pears check out this one:

https://my.apsnet.org/ItemDetail?iProductCode=44303

1 Like

Thanks Rick. I’ve seen bitter rot before, but since I grow very few apples,
have never paid much attention to it. But this year I expect a decent harvest
from the 4 trees I have, and wanted to be prepared, in case I see it again.
It’s a good thing Captan is cheap, but I doubt that I’ll spray, unless it gets
out of hand. I’m pretty good on orchard sanitation. Thanks again.

1 Like

I had over 50 big fat gold rush apples this year. Unfortunately I’m down to a half dozen due to summer rot. I guess I better get on a treatment program next year. I saw some rot last year which was much more prevalent in non bagged apples. I should have bagged this year but decided to try the footies vs nonbagged. The cooties made no difference in bug damage because I have none. Im extremely careful with sanitation. But it’s not enough in my yard. Grrrrrrr.

1 Like

I could have written your same post-gold rush, lots of apples, excellent sanitation, 90% lost to rots. I’m in a very similar climate to yours, too, though this has been an exceptionally wet summer. I think mine is mostly bitter rot and maybe glomerella, but I’m not experienced enough to know for sure.