Blueberry leaf curl Need advice please!

Hi, so my blueberry leaves are curling. They look healthy and the flowers came out nice. Do I need to worry? Is this a sign of something? Thanks for any feedback or advice!

I am new to growing and I grow on a balcony.

Hi Mike, welcome to the forum!

As a person who is new to growing, you have chosen a plant that is somewhat challenging to grow, even for more experienced growers. Add to that growing it in a container and on a balcony really adds 2 more levels of difficulty.

That being said I think that you may have a reasonable chance of success if you are willing to put in the time to learn about the demands of this plant.

I don’t think that anyone can give you a definitive reason why those leaves are curling based on the picture. The plant may be perfectly healthy. My first thought is that it may not be getting adequate sunlight. It should get at a bare minimum 4 hours of direct sunlight, a full day is recommended for best production. It may survive on less but will have weak spindly growth and low production.

A few other notes to keep in mind:

Blueberries should be planted in an acidic medium such as azalea potting mix. Due to their unusual root system most blueberry cultivars will eventually decline and die in any planting medium that has basic pH. If you bought this plant already potted by a nursery you should be OK. However, most municipal water supplies are formulated to be somewhat alkaline to keep the city’s pipes from corroding. Over time this alkaline water will raise the pH of the soil in the root zone and inhibit nutrient uptake in the root system, possibly killing the plant. You will need to keep the pH acidic for long term success.

The search function on this site (as well as Google) will offer you a lot of reading material to become more familiar with this plant’s particular needs.

1 Like