Blueberry plants for landscaping Rosa's Blush Charlotte NC 8a

I’m the HOA president and looking to reduce lawn care expenses and make neighborhood more fun. I saw this youtube video about Rosa’s Blush blueberry bush being used as a landscaping plant. But I can’t seem to find any local nursery that sells it. We have a 10x120’ long strip of grass I want to replace with low maintenance bushes and thought about 40 of these would be fun to plant there. our native clay is no good so will have to acifify the soil with pine bark and maybe some sand. and holly tone. thanks in advance. charlotte nc zone 8a full sun and we have irrigation. It’s in a “parking strip” right of way location so the plants can’t be very tall 2-3 feet max is another limitation.

1 Like

Try: wilson bros gardens in McDonough GA for potted plants of this cultivar of blueberry.

I have no personal experience using this cultivar. But, theoretically it might get the job done.

Charlotte area soils are acidic, some under 5 pH, so a soil test, but it might be acidic enough already.
This cultivar of blueberry must have a second variety for pollination, and apparently the
rabbiteye blueberries can do that, but you’ll need to have some in somebody’s hedge or garden nearby if you expect fruit I believe.

Good luck!

ps, Give PIKE’s a call in Pineville or Mint Hill.

That’s a pretty plant and one I haven’t heard of.
There was Cure Nursery,probably in NC,whose owners recently retired,but sold it to Rachel’s Native Plants,in Pittsboro,NC.
Rosa’s Blush is on their website,but uncertain if available.

Also,for mail order,there are some in Louisiana at Almost Eden.

I found another dwarf landscape plant called Cutie pie , Pikes Nursery in Charlotte NC sells it for $30 I might try that first since I prefer buying local vs mail order. the plants are cheaper and healther typically.
turns out there have been several dwarf ornamental blueberries,
Summer Sunset™’: A new ornamental blueberry