BOC style...initial cut = 22"?

The Backyard Orchard Culture (or similar) approach is appealing to me. 8-9 foot trees would be fine. I have acquired yet another tree, a Satsuma Plum, on unknown rootstock. I’m thinking of chopping it, initial pruning, less than two feet tall (20"-22"), just above its two first main laterals (?, I’m still new at this), see photos. I really wish I would have started all my trees this way but I did my last one, a cherry tree, and it turned out great. I’m basically looking for confirmation, or a reason to cease and desist. I can do it, with a little encouragement.

Where I’m thinking of cutting is about 7/16 caliper. A couple inches lower than 2 feet.

I’d cut it at 22 inches right above that little shoot going right. Then cut all the branches back to a few buds. This will cause the tree to put on vigorous new growth in all directions. It might also cause buds to push off the trunk. Later on you can choose the best scaffold branches to form the tree you want.

5 Likes

What fruitnut said! Pruning never ends, Amazing how much grow these trees can put on. I have pruned three times in one year, and could have did more. Now that my tree are older they seem to be more settled down.

This is a long story, I shall skip it. This was cut as low as you can get! Spring of 2014.

Here it is last September.2016. It produced 66 fruit last year.

10 Likes

Wow, thanks FruitNut, and Drew…very impressive. I sure wished I’d done this with all my trees, but I guess I said that already. I can do this.
I’m wondering if I could do grafting lower than the current branches on my trees that mainly ‘start’ higher like at 4-5 feet? I get to ‘help out’ at the NCGR facility, Corvallis, next week and maybe again a few weeks later…yes, cutting scions. I love being around that place. I hope to learn more about scions and grafting and I will find the answers to making the most of what I have already done and future projects as well.

1 Like

Gulp…OK. (Thanks!)

1 Like