Bulletproof Stone Fruit for the Deep South/Gulf Coast - Zone 8b

Hey everyone! Newbie here. I’m planting fruit trees and edible perennials in south Mississippi about 50 miles from the gulf coast. Soil seems to be a silty sand with a bit of clay. Poplarville Area.

I’m trying to build up food security and grow as many varieties of fruit as I can. Because I’m not always at my cabin all the time, I’m looking for fruit trees that will do well without much babying. Ive used a lot of compost and mulch and remineralized the soil with rock dust and some other amendments. Trying to keep it simple and pretty natural.

So far I’ve got a couple dwarf mulberries, figs, Fuyu persimmons, arbequina olives, pear trees, top grafted Anna and golden Dorset apples onto wild crab apples.

I’m really trying to find resilient and disease resistant stone fruits.

Trees I’ve planted in the last 2 years:

2 Santa Rosa plums (both suffering some leaf scorch I think)
1 burgundy plum - grown better than Santa rosa gave me 4 fruit that are ripe this week (they split in recent rains but man they packed some flavour)
2 June gold peaches
2 Florida king peaches
1 Florida Prince
1 Ne plus Almond (surprisingly growing great so far)
1 non pareil almond (suffering some die back)
1 methley plum (died in the drought last year)
2 unnamed Chickasaw plums
2 unnamed American Plums
2 seedling peaches

Any low maintenance recommendations that have consistently grown well for you over the years?

Thanks in advance!

3 Likes

First let me say welcome to the forum. Second how far away is the cabin from where you normally live? The longer the distance the harder it is going to be to manage the orchard you have and the more you will need to pick fruits that require less care.