Can you graft sour cherry to sweet cherry?

It’s probably a dumb question, but I have no experience with sour cherries. I have a Lapins sweet cherry that isn’t performing well here, and I would like to top work it with something.

Yes, it can be done. Should be an easy take. In fact, sour cherry is often grafted to Mazzard as a rootstock, and Mazzard is basically just a strain of Prunus avium, which is sweet cherry.

3 Likes

Most definitely can be done I have been top working my sweet cherry that had some sour limbs to 100% sour

2 Likes

Here is an example of Sumadinka → Royal Rainier from @Marta

1 Like

I have morello grafted to a volunteer sweet cherry seedling. It’s doing well in spite of morning shade from the larger seedling and forest to its East.

1 Like

They graft easily onto Mahaleb, and grow well. Not sure if Mazzard is a good option, as I lost a number of potted trees grafted onto Mazzard a year ago. Could be another reasons for this, but I also had the trees on Mahaleb in pots for a year, and I don’t remember any losses. Fruiting in the mild winters areas is another issue, and I don’t really have the data yet on most of my cultivars under testing here in the Central Valley. Sumadinka has fruited well for me, but I had a lot of chill hours (probably close to 1000). All my trees are still too young to draw any conclusions, and I am in the process of moving them from one location to another. This move takes the evaluation back for a couple of years, as I had to prune them heavily before the move.

3 Likes

FWIW, I have grafted Sumadinka and Belle Magnifique to my Stella. The scions are likely from Marta and Andy distributed in the CRFG exchange. I think @JamesN has also grafted them in his So. Cal orchard. Both of our experiences should give some insight into their performance in 300-600 chill hour range.

1 Like

how about a sweet to a sour cherry? Kristen and a few others are z4 hardy. i have monty, Juliet, Romeo, carmine jewel and lutowaka rose.