Citrus in Containers with serious Nitrogen Deficiency - Need Advice

Hello Everyone,

This is my first year with citrus. We put 7 citrus trees on flying dragon rootstock in half barrels of citrus soil mix that I made myself from well draining constituents. The problem has been this year’s absurd weather patterns. The barrels are outside in full sun along a fence, and the northeast of the US, particularly central New York has had one of the rainiest, wettest July’s on record. There was a period in the early part of the month where it rained every single day at least once for 10 straight days. That’s unheard of for our summers. It feels more like Seattle than central New York.

My thinking is that the constant moisture in the citrus prevents them from taking up Nitrogen normally and the leaves have started to show it. Two have almost no green pigment left in their leaves and look horrible:

This week I’ve been trying to move them on carts in and out of the sun under an eaves to prevent them from being rained on. This isn’t a good solution because under our barn eaves the sun never shines. My Hail Mary could be to bring them physically indoors into a grow tent we have with artificial lights, but I’m not sure if that shock will just punish them even more. Our grow tent is 90 degrees during the day and 70 at night which isn’t ideal but I could at least control the water situation.

Any thoughts from experienced citrus growers. Are they too far gone given that they’re only in their first year in these containers?

This has been a hard year on my citrus as well due to the weather.