Cleveland, OH 1 Acre Urban Orchard

Hello,

I was just offered a 1 acre piece of urban land in Cleveland, Ohio basically for free and plan on using it as an urban garden. Cleveland has a major foodie, locally grown food movement underfoot, and I plan on planting a lot of a few different crops on the plot to sell to local grocers, farmer’s markets, etc.

I have been gardening and tending a small back yard orchard for a few years, but nothing near the scale I’m about to undertake.

I am considering a big planting of maybe 50 vines of hardy kiwis. I think the novelty factor and the huge yields per vine make this an interesting choice. I’ve literally never seen them for sale here. At 100 pounds per plant at maturity it seems like it could be a profitable venture. 50 vines * 100 pounds per vine * 5000 pounds of kiwis at maturity * $6.00 per pound = $30,000 gross revenue per year. Am I missing something? Why are hardy kiwis not more widely grown commercially?

I have about 6 vines in my back yard, but have only had them for 3 years and haven’t seen them flower or get to their full size yet - is there anything about OH climate that would make them problematic over the long term, even though mine seem to be growing fine so far? Does anyone have any experience with Kiwis on this scale, or experience growing them in Cleveland area (zone 6b)? I’m only finding limited resources and data on their production.

I am also considering some yellow raspberries, for their novelty factor, and because they should be good producers much more quickly than the kiwis.

I figure if it’s something that’s a bit of a novelty, it would have a greater demand, and less supply which both help me as the seller. I enjoy the gardening part, not the selling/marketing part.

Does anyone know of an ideal crop for this type of venture? I like the idea of a long lasting fruit/berry much more than an annual vegetable or something like that.