Cortland blossoms dying

Hello, I have a Cortland which has really struggled compared to my other apples. Very minimal blooms more this year than last but still for the size of the tree.

Is this a disease? Some sort fungal process? Thank you in advance!

I have a mature 25 yo Cortland, always has a lot of blossoms. How old is your tree? Are you careful when pruning to keep your spurs? The picture you posted do not look abnormal
Why do you think they are dieing?
Dennis
Kent wa

I’m not sure. I was wondering if it was related to frost but lots of other blossoms on other trees are fine. The tree itself is gorgeous and very healthy but I’ve yet to have one piece of fruit from it in the 4 years I’ve had it. Part of it was my fault and I was a noob and Buried the graft union. I uncovered it but I’m sure it’s taken on some standard characteristics. I was trying to be better about not pruning the tips this year. Any advice on pruning this one? My other spur bearing are fine but i can’t seem to find any good recs on pruning tip bearers

1 Like

How large is the tree at the base of trunk. Mine is about 27-28 years old. Below are a couple pics of my blossoms which are further along than yours but my climate is probably warmer in zone 8 A.

Also when I review its character on line I get this data:

Vigour Vigourous.
Habit Drooping. Has a natural globe form; difficult to train to central leader.
Precocity Bears early and well.
Fruit Placement Considerable tip bearing with some development of spurs.
Bloom Period Mid early, with McIntosh.
Pollination Pollinated by other diploids with overlapping bloom periods. Seldom has problems with either under or over-setting.
Nutrition Overfertilizing with Nitrogen should be avoided. Somewhat sensitive to Magnesium and Boron deficiency.