Cot-N-Candy Aprium Pruning advice needed

I have a Cot-N-Candy Aprium that I planted bare root last February. As you can see from the picture it appears to have a codominate branch. I want to have lower scaffold. The codominate branch on the left is at about 30 inches. Which is where I’d like to head the tree. However, I’m not sure if new branches would sprout from the trunk. And I’m wondering if I should completely prune off the codominate branch and head the tree back with no branch at all. Any advice is appreciated.

1 Like

Here’s what I ended up doing.

This tree was in ground for one year. Here it is pushing new growth. I sacrificed a year of fruit, but in the long run it will be well worth it. The was a larger caliper tree so I was unsure about the response in spring. However, this is a very vigorous growing variety even on citation rootstock.

10 Likes

How are the roots in these? I’m new to the planting game and we decided on this one at the nursery today. Wondering if it will ruin our concrete if planted near the house or if we should plant in a more open area

Here’s an update on my Cot-N-Candy.

4 Likes

i almost had a heart attack lol
took a lot of balls and paying off

1 Like

If I can suggest something - never ever cut the leader like that - flat. It is an invitation to fungal infections and problems in later life. Always cut it under an angle such that rain drops will go down the trunk and not sit and wait for spores to invade.

Cheers

3 Likes

And CnC is pretty much an Apricot. Do not winter prune from here on in California. Only summer pruning.

1 Like

5 Likes

Excellent growth. I’d prune once more now and won’t touch the tree till spring/summer next year.

Here’s a most recent photo from the other day. Flowering well this spring and looks to be setting a decent first crop. This will be third year in ground. Still not down blooming. Just thought I’d give an update.

3 Likes