Currants: what are the best tasting

Some make good jelly, and there are so many kinds. What are the best tasting varieties of white, red and black currants? (Since gooseberries are related you can also add in the best varieties of that too.)

Besides taste, mention largest size fruits, smallest sized bushes, least disease prone, most beautful when loaded, or any other qualities for us to consider.

7 Likes

In my opinion, and after reading many comparisons, Poorman and Hinomaki Red are the best dessert quality gooseberries, with Hinomaki White and Black Velvet being notable mentions.

5 Likes

I am far from an expert on currants, they are challenging to grow in my area due to the heat and humidity that we experience in the summer. With that said, I have had good luck with a variety called “Cherry Red.”

I grow them in an area where they get a few hours of sun a day and that seems to be plenty for them to produce well.

http://ediblelandscaping.com/buyPlants.php?func=view&id=88

2 Likes

Most currants are cold zone plants. I would look to the native types like Golden currant. Ones that will work in your area. The best producers and largest berries are from the Netherlands. None would probably work in your area.

They would need shade in your area, maybe look at some of the English currants as they are always wet and damp, and about the same zone.

2 Likes