Deer v. Milorganite

Would like to hear your experience using Milorganite to keep deer away from orchard trees.

Is top dressing sufficient or better to hang bags of it?

I would be shocked if either worked.

I don’t have personal hands-on with Milorganite and fruit trees, but I have a lot of experience with deer. Most things like this and other repellants are deterrents. With these, it is really a balancing act. It depends on what other foods deer have available, the population density, and the perceived threat of accessing a particular food source. Repellents simply make a food source less attractive and the effect us usually short-lived. Milorganite is often used to make a crop like soybeans less attractive for a short period during establishment. Once established, if planted in enough volume, they can handle the browsing pressure. However, if other foods are scarce and the populations are high, milorganite will not stop deer from using the beans when young.

The only thing I’ve found to be really effective is a Gallagher-style Electric fence. The 3 dimensional design exploits several weaknesses that deer have. I have found these to be very effective even when populations are high.

I think forest pretty well nailed my thinking on the subject. Repellents I think can work very well under the conditions he mentions, but if it’s the best eating around they won’t care in the least.
I’ve always felt sulfur had a good deterrent effect and with all the continuous rain we’ve had my trees have been getting munched to hell and back since I’ve been unable to spray. It would seem that after all this rain and warmth there would be tons of fresh tender growth to eat elsewhere, but apparently they favor apple and pear to almost anything it seems. They’ve never once bothered my sour cherries, and barely nibbled at the plums, the apples get it the worst.