Did this rose come with Mosaic Virus?

I ordered 6 standard tree roses from David Austin. They have just started leafing out nicely but one of the trees has weird looking leaves - Green leaves with yellow veins. Looks like yellow vein mosaic virus. Should I remove and burn this tree ASAP?

I doubt its a nutrition deficiency + other 5 roses in the exact same soil don’t have this issue.

GRACE WITH YELLOW MOSAIC VIRUS CLOSEUP

GRACE WITH YELLOW MOSAIC VIRUS

OTHER TREE ROSES LOOK OK

I’m no rose expert but that looks like vein banding which is one way mosaic can express itself. Its the opposite of iron deficiency in terms of yellow/green areas. So yes, it looks like one to get outta there!

1 Like

Take photo, send to vendor

2 Likes

@ltilton @scottfsmith Thank you both!

Yes I have called and emailed David Austin Roses but not expecting much from them based on their negative reviews.

I am trying to determine - Is there a risk that it may spread to other fruit trees/roses? some web sites say it spreads only by grafting and does not spread in air/water/pollination/etc. Some sites say remove and burn ASAP.
If this is mosaic virus does anyone know for sure if there is any risk of spreading to my other trees? If yes, i would get rid of it right away. If it is not going to spread and just 1 infected tree - I will replace it next year (sold out for this year…)

Thanks!

They were probably thinking of RRD when they said remove and burn ASAP. Rose Rosette Disease is very bad news and spreads through wind-blown mites.

As far as I know, general consensus is that RMV is not going to spread easily. It doesn’t have insect vectors or anything. It does spread through grafting. I’d just ask for a replacement rose (pick another variety because that one looks like their source is infected). Maybe clean your pruners before cutting other roses? I never bother, but RMV roses tend to do fine where I am.

1 Like

Thanks Cafeaulait!