Does gold nugget mandarin have thorns?

I got a Gold Nugget Mandarin from Four Winds Growers. I just opened the box and it has thorns. I thought mandarins don’t have thorns. Are gold nugget a exception?

My Gold Nugget has thorns and came from the same seller.

1 Like

Did it produce yet? I am wondering if it is true to name or if it is just a ungrafted tree. I don’t see a graft on my tree which is weird.

No,but the tree is flowering right now.From what I’ve read,the thorns appear,when young and then stop after getting more mature.

3 Likes

I got one from from Four Winds also. It’s now 3 years old. Only one branch has thorns, even the though the branch is above the graft line. it will be interesting to see if that branch produces flowers next year.

2 Likes

My Tahoe Gold from Four Winds also has thorns. It looks like it was a bud graft, which makes it harder to spot than a cleft or whip. I didn’t think the thorns were an issue, but I’m pretty new to citrus so I’ll follow along with this thread!

1 Like

My Gold Nugget has no thorns. Also a Four Winds tree.

1 Like

Do you have any pictures of how yours looked? I have found posts stating their Gold Nugget from Four Winds and the Gold Nugget from Costco had it. I am hoping it is not a bad graft.

Yeah I guess I noticed a slight indentation but don’t see a big graft point. My Owari Satsuma has no thorns and you can clearly see the graft which is why I was curious.

A good page description of gold nugget.
Leafs are often distinct on citrus types .

http://idtools.org/id/citrus/citrusid/factsheet.php?name=Gold%20Nugget

1 Like

My gold nugget mandarin from Four Winds Growers also has thorns. My Owari Satsuma and California Honey do not (yet anyways).

1 Like

Interesting. The older branches I never noticed any thorns but in these pictures you can see some areas where it does have them. They’re also not very sharp, but still present in some places.

2 Likes