Electric fences for controlling raccoons and possums

Currently experiencing some major apple theft, like 5 to 10 apples off a tree are gone overnight… Pretty sure its raccoons and possums coming out of the woods. I am considering a low to the ground 2 wire electric fence with a low powered charger like this one from Amazon that is charged by 2 D batteries. We have neighborhood cats and dogs come around so dont want anything too powerful but strong enough to do the job. Anyone using an electric fence to keep the critters away? I would like to hears others experiences with electric fences, thanks, Chris.

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0042XAP38/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pC_nS_ttl?_encoding=UTF8&colid=1T4GYN0RPRQEB&coliid=I1GOVQ8BBTP5SP

They can be very effective. Most effective when you can run a double strand, a line a couple inches above the ground and another about 6-8" above the ground. I have no experience with the charger you have shown. We use a livestock charger, they wont physically injure a cat or dog. You can also get the poly tape instead of wire, provides a visual cue once the animal gets shocked.

2 Likes

Never killed anything but squirrels with a charge- must have been a lot of dew that morning. There are too varieties of chargers, one is a constant charger that requires a plug in, although it’s easy to run a wire from where it is plugged in- it’s what killed that squirrel. It works better for squirrels, IME, because pulsating ones I’ve tried have more than a second between pulses and some squirrels will get over the wire without shock. They are the only ones coming solar powered and should work fine for coons and possums if you can’t be bothered trapping them out. Makes sense to exclude them because new ones keep coming when you kill them. I’m pretty sure they can smell a tree full of ripe peaches very far away.

Too bad I don’t eat coon. Nauseating enough to skin a deer.

1 Like

Chris

Look up KENCOVE FENCE kencove.com.