Essential Fermenting Equipment?

Since I am a newbie to making cider, I have been researching fermenting cider and I believe that there is 4 essential items - (1) fermenter, (2) airlock, (3) siphoning hose and (4) bottles. I am making a trip to the big city tomorrow to a “Winery and Brew Shop” store to see what they have.

Questions:
(1) fermenter - What size of a carboy should I consider?
(2) airlock - Is this a necessity if I am not making hard cider?
(3) siphoning hose - How does “auto siphoning” work?
(4) bottles - Why can’t I just use regular mason jars?

If anyone has thoughts about what else I need to get started brewing cider I would appreciate it. Maybe a hydrometer?

4 Likes

#6 you do not use mason jars because the air space is exposed to air to much lower
alcohol as well not like wiskey

Think of a stale beer after a day of a party left out.

You should go to the dollar store, and get a spray bottle

Potassium Metabissulfite — (Short K Meta ) K stands for Potassium
A lot of people know Fertalizer NPK is Nitrogen N Phosphorus is P, and K is Potassium

Spray stuff down it saves time

#3 Siphoning Hardware store fish tubes.
Also you can fill the Hose with liquid , and pinch it, that will start a syphon
)syponing is called racking in wine)

#3 you can get a bottle filler as well

1 Like

I guess I’m confused as to what your son is of you’re not making hard cider. Are you making vinegar?

From a hard cider perspective, your carboy size will depend on how much juice you have to work with. You want a little headspace for the primary ferment, but very little for secondary/aging. I’ve used Carlo Rossi jugs for small batches. The airlock is essential IF you want good control over what yeasts and bacteria are in there. Otherwise, you can get away with loosely covering it to keep flies out.
If you were to make hard cider, you need bottles, because Mason jars are not pressure rated and can’t take the carbonation.

2 Likes

I just posted quickly can right more later